Shipping in Europe and worldwide from 5.95€. No minimum order value.

Techniques Berlin - The Language of Machines [1985-1991] (2x 12" Vinyl)


The price includes the VAT, plus shipping costs.
VAT is not applicable for deliveries outside the EU, but country-specific taxes and customs duties apply.


Released on: 17. May 2024

Immediately available

MEC090 - Weight: 515g

Sales rank: 62 [ Peak: 62 ]

This product increases the shipping costs to countries outside the EU extremely, because this product must be sent as a DHL package and no longer as a cheap German Warenpost! Please take a look at the shipment price list for your country.

2LP features: limited edition of 500 copies, gatefold sleeve

Formed by high school buddies Andreas Gregor and David Rout, Techniques Berlin started in 1984 experimenting with synthesizers, drum machines and guitars. In the early stages, the band was heavily influenced by UK new romantic acts The Human League, Visage, Yazoo, OMD and Depeche Mode, as well as rising Canadian synth-pop bands Rational Youth, Men Without Hats and Trans-X. It took them a few years to master their electronic toys and create a unique blend of addictive electro-pop melodies and beautifully crafted alternative beats.

In the late 80s, Techniques Berlin played live on a regular basis and their 3 self-released tapes received frequent local airplay in Canada. Despite their moderate success, the band failed to secure a record deal. Eventually both members had developed a strong interest in the burgeoning electro-industrial scene. Dave and Andreas founded !Bang Elektronika and were working with Digital Poodle as live drummers. Both of these projects were soon picked up by record labels. Techniques Berlin played their last show in November of 1991 at the University of Toronto, debuting the last track they had recorded, fittingly called ‘Time Fades to Nothing’. Or so they thought…

The proliferation of Internet radio and streaming music platforms introduced the band to a new generation of fans, enabling Techniques Berlin to stage a remarkable comeback. Within the next years they released the compilation “Suburban Playgrounds and Concrete Beaches” (Fabrika Records), recorded a new album “Breathing” (Nadanna) in 2018 and offered a series of shows in Toronto, Montreal, Mexico City and Leipzig.

“The Language of Machines” compiles a selection of original recordings between 1985 and 1991, including some favourite tunes like ‘Dancing to the Fall of the Berlin Wall’, ‘Metropolis’, ‘Watching You’ and a few unreleased tracks/versions.

Tracklisting LP1:

No. Track Time
A1 I Desire [Dave Vocal Version] --
A2 Love Declaration --
A3 Pieces of Glass --
A4 Dancing to the Fall of the Berlin Wall --
A5 Love via Computer --
B1 Planet 21 --
B2 Just One Look --
B3 Metropolis --
B4 Secret Lies --

Tracklisting LP2:

No. Track Time
C1 And You [LinnDrum Version] --
C2 Erotica --
C3 Machine Language --
C4 Watching You --
C5 Run Away --
D1 My Suburban Playground [Extended Remix] --
D2 She Fades Away --
D3 Beats Like a Machine --
D4 Time Fades to Nothing --

 » Further products of Techniques Berlin
 » Techniques Berlin Homepage

 » Further products of Mecanica Records

Electropop 27

Content © 2004-2024 POPoNAUT
Shop system: osCommerce