Shipping in Europe from 3.95€; and worldwide from 4.95€; No minimum order value.

Twice A Man - Songs Of Future Memories (1982 -2022) / Limited Book Edition (3CD)


The price includes the VAT, plus shipping costs.
VAT is not applicable for deliveries outside the EU, but country-specific taxes and customs duties apply.


Released on: 27. January 2023

Immediately available

884388870024 - Weight: 400g

Sales rank: – [ Peak: 4 ]

3CD Book (72 pages, hardcover, 18x18cm) 34 Tracks in total, incl. 2 unreleased tracks, remastered, liner notes by Ecki Stieg (700 copies available)

"Songs of Future Memories (1982-2022)" is the long overdue second anthology dedicated to the Swedish pioneers of electronic music, TWICE A MAN. On three CDs, the finest tracks from the 14 song albums have been collected and diligently remastered. The 7 instrumental works of the band's catalogue have been deliberately left out of this project, which is intended to serve as a comprehensive musical guide through the band's outstanding career spanning over 4 decades of groundbreaking works. In addition to the known material, the band has also added two new tracks.

TWICE A MAN never took the easy way. Long before it became fashionable, the Swedes positioned themselves as early environmentalists, which became a theme running through their lyrics but is also reflected in their music, which amalgamates futuristic electronics and organic elements from the start. In their holistic approach of creating a sonic cosmos of their own, the band resembles THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS. Musically, theirs is a different story that been lovingly described as "Ultravox on weed – also melancholic but without the saccharine pathos" or "like a sad Gary Numan, but with a warm, organic touch". There are also gentle echoes of TANGERINE DREAM, KLAUS SCHULZE, and THE HUMAN LEAGUE among many other possible references.

When singer, guitarist, and keyboarder Dan Söderqvist teamed up with synth player Karl Gasleben in 1977, the duo formed COSMIC OVERDOSE as the first electronic band in Scandinavia. Although they sang in Swedish, their two albums created a buzz abroad, which led to COSMIC OVERDOSE being invited to support NEW ORDER on their first Scandinavian tour in 1981.

Being impressed with the band's performance, NEW ORDER's English promoter invited them over to the UK, but he found the name COSMIC OVERDOSE to be too closely related to drugs. This led to a change of band name to TWICE A MAN and the first concert under the new moniker took place in London on the 14th of December 1981.

In hindsight, the artistic contributions and keen interest of TWICE A MAN in environmental issues turns out to be quite prophetic. With our planet moving towards a catastrophe that is driven by human greed and stupidity, it seems that now is the perfect time to rediscover the pioneering work of this Swedish band. The art of TWICE A MAN reconciles electronic technology with the organic and natural. "Songs of Future Memories (1982-2022)" sends a beautiful and strong message to be both heard and enjoyed.

Tracklisting CD1:

No. Track Time
1 Move 03:10
2 Russian Tractors 04:11
3 Decay 04:06
4 Goat II 02:59
5 Balloons 04:47
6 Talking to the Wall 05:35
7 Observations from a Borderland 05:53
8 Fear 06:23
9 Across the Ocean 07:31
10 Distant Calls 07:43
11 Still in the Air 05:01
12 Divided Light 06:14
13 Tribal Ways 06:35

Tracklisting CD2:

No. Track Time
1 Back on Venus 03:38
2 Girl 04:27
3 03. Driftwood --
4 Yellow Flowers 02:47
5 Crane Dance 03:09
6 Speed 04:14
7 Reality built for two 05:57
8 Shivanayama 06:10
9 Somebody sang your name 06:05
10 Skylark 04:34
11 Shoe 07:54
12 Tranquil Moonlit Lake 05:30
13 Where are you now 07:33

Tracklisting CD3:

No. Track Time
1 Black 05:37
2 Presence 05:24
3 High in the Clouds 06:12
4 Cocoon 7 05:27
5 Fireflies 06:10
6 Modern World 07:20
7 Lotus 08:18
8 Dahlia 06:19

 » Further products of Twice A Man
  Twice A Man @ Facebook
 » Twice A Man Homepage

 » Further products of Dependent

BCB - Fan Set

Content © 2004-2023 POPoNAUT
Shop system: osCommerce